Golf day out!

Today I played golf for the first time. I had never played golf before. I had never tried even the super stupid mini golfs.

I discovered that golfing is just another thing I am not good at.

The golf event was sponsored by the company I work for as a day out. Unfortunately the weather was crap, as it always is in Belgium. I went to a city about 40km from Brussels called Louvain La Neuve.

In Belgium there are two Louvain´s. One is the Flemish town of Leuven. The other is a town built in the 1970´s when the University of Leuven split in two different universities due to language issues. Louvain La Neuve is not a specially beautiful place as it´s a planned city for the university.

The golf took place in Golf Clube de Louvain-La-Neuve. We had some training on how to putt and drive. I think I did reasonably well in the putt as it was quite easy and did not require any special move. The drive experience was not as good. It is quite difficult to have the mental discipline to do the exact correct movement. Out of 50 shots, maybe 1 or 2 were quite decent. How embarrassing.

The interesting thing is that the membership for this golf club is not as expensive as I expected. The annual membership is 400 euro for a person and 650 for a couple. If you live close by and really like the sport I think it is a good investment. I also read that you can try the practice range for 10 euro for 80 balls, quite fun to do with friends. I might come back one day just to confirm my incompetence in the golfing fields. (by the way, some posts below I sad I could not write about golfing, and here I am writing about golfing haha)

This entry was posted in Belgium, Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

