The Washing Machine

I am a big fan of gadgets. I like to have the latest LCD TV, the most advanced phone and the best gaming console. But there is nothing more important in the life of a person than a washing machine. For many years I did not have a washing machine. It was a mixture of not being able to afford one and not having the space to fit one in my previous flat. In fact, one of the main reasons to move from my old place to the new was the possibility of installing this marvelous piece of equipment.

Before having a washing machine I had the pleasure of going to laundromats. Laundromats are probably one of the most depressing places in the world. No one wants to be there, no one is happy.

If you are not familiar with the concept of a laundromat, this is usually a small sized shop where they install 10 to 20 washing machines and some tumble dryers. You carry your laundry there, buy a token, fill the apparel and press start. You wait a couple of hours for the cleaning cycle to end, carry everything to a dryer and again wait for an hour for it to dry.

Usually laundromats are very well lighten by disgusting fluorescent bulbs – the walls are white and the floor is ceramic. The whole place feels like a hospital, but noisier. The place smells like a mixture of the used washing powder and the odor of burning cotton in the dryer.

Some people will read pretending that they are capable of enjoying such moments, but I am sure that they all are counting the seconds to run away. Mothers would bring their children and they would just start crying of boredom – just like I felt inside.

I would try to get drunk before going to a laundromat in a bid to increase my enjoyment from having needles penetrated in the eye to have my fingers crushed by a hammer. The worse was during the winter. Even though I had a shop close to my home, it was still 6 or 7 blocks away. It is totally not fun to walk in the snow carrying 10 kilos of clothes to be washed plus washing powder.

During the long winters I would run out of underwear, which meant either a visit to the laundromat or the C&A. Today I probably have more than 100 pieces of underwear as I would prefer to visit C&A than being tortured.

But this is all over 🙂 I have my lovely Electroluxx washing machine. I just have to walk ten steps in order to do my washing. I can wait in my bed for two hours and in the meanwhile watch a good movie or write this blog post.

Long live the washing machines!

This entry was posted in Belgium, Gadgets, ThisBlog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Washing Machine

  1. I understand. I’m a gadget girl too!

Leave a Reply

